picfriender.info IM spam

I have just received a link from a friend over MSN instant messenger that pointed to “her” website on picfriender.info. I clicked it, and saw a homepage which asked me for my MSN username and password. Why would they need it? If I needed an account to visit her website, I would need to make a new one. So, the only logical thing is they would use it to get access to my account. Well, it seemed like a spam company, so I googled them. Strangely, Google knows nothing about them for now.

Then I noticed a link to their Terms of Service, and I wasn’t surprised to read this…

“We may temporarily access your MSN account to do a combination
of the following:
1. Send Instant Messages to your friends promoting this site.
2. Introduce new entertaining sites to your friends via Instant Messages.”

It doesn’t smell only like spam, it is spam. Sort of legalised, though. I hope they will be closed soon. Be sure to not give them your account information, unless you want them to send annoying links to your friends. Some of them may fall for this too… And the chain reaction begins.

In case you already gave out your personal information, the fix should be simple. Just change your password over at MSN Passport/Windows Live ID website.

Update: I have just checked the information about this website, and I found out that it was registered less than 10 hours ago. It’s logical why Google still knows nothing about it…

Update #2: It seems that this is not new, Aeriff wrote a blog post on this on March 15th. The only difference is the more logical domain name (picfriender.info vs. rkntbp.info)…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,